mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:15 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: To create new fields in a table BBDD
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
Location: VALENCIA
Country: Spain (es)
Is possible to create new fields in a table with a order number less than 150?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:45 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:49 pm
Posts: 4182
Location: Olst
Country: Netherlands (nl)
If you mean creating new fields in Navision tables (<50000) with fieldnumner <50000 the answer is no. :(

Unless you have some supernavisionlicense :mrgreen:

You can create fields with numbers between 50000 and 99999

_________________
Mark Brummel | Freelance Dynamics NAV (Navision) Specialist

Author of the book : Microsoft Dynamics NAV Application Design

MY BLOG : http://markbrummel.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:47 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:49 pm
Posts: 4182
Location: Olst
Country: Netherlands (nl)
Oops, I see now that this is the DOS forum! Do you mean DOS or are you posting in the wrong forum?

It is friday afternoon. :roll:

_________________
Mark Brummel | Freelance Dynamics NAV (Navision) Specialist

Author of the book : Microsoft Dynamics NAV Application Design

MY BLOG : http://markbrummel.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:07 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:49 pm
Posts: 4182
Location: Olst
Country: Netherlands (nl)
Well, I've just had a quick look in an old DOS database and the minimum value is indeed 150 so my guess is it's the same as the 50000 theory in the windows version.

You need a 'superlicense' to do this, I know they exist for windows but I don't reccomend using them.

_________________
Mark Brummel | Freelance Dynamics NAV (Navision) Specialist

Author of the book : Microsoft Dynamics NAV Application Design

MY BLOG : http://markbrummel.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Thanks a lot
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
Location: VALENCIA
Country: Spain (es)
Is possible to have the superlicense?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:48 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:49 pm
Posts: 4182
Location: Olst
Country: Netherlands (nl)
Nope, I had one by accident. I never used it because it would only complicate things when you'dd upgrade. I don't even think I still have it. :?

What are you exactly trying to achieve? Why do you need this field?

_________________
Mark Brummel | Freelance Dynamics NAV (Navision) Specialist

Author of the book : Microsoft Dynamics NAV Application Design

MY BLOG : http://markbrummel.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Superlicense User
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
Location: VALENCIA
Country: Spain (es)
In our Navision BBDD there are “black hole designs”. I am able to modify Field Name, Type and Length but I cannot add more fields with the order number less than 150. ](*,)

I am not thinking about deleting fields [-X , but I would like to have the same fields and order for having “integrity” between tables. You know?!… fields number 20 are the same in the table Clients and Head Orders…

How is possible to know if I have the superlicense (“by accident”)? :whistle:

By the way I have another question, ¿What is the maximum Gb of Navision BBDD?. Making test and trials on our BBDD I see it is 2 Gb. ¿Is it the maximum? :?:


ThanKs Mark for your helping :D


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Database size in the DOS version of Navision (V3.56a)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:07 am
Posts: 3
Location: Vejle
Country: Denmark (dk)
Hi there.

The maximum database size of the old DOS version of Navision is 32GB, but your license file must allow it.

You purchased granules of 100MB each.

The thing to remember is, that the individual database files may NOT exceed 2GB each. When you expand your database beyond the 2GB "limit", you have to create a new database file. The most optimal way is to have several physical harddisks in the server and create equal sized files on each disk. Everytime you double your number of physical disks, you cut your response time in half.

Regards,
Kim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thx
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
Location: VALENCIA
Country: Spain (es)
Thanks a lot for your help ktvallentin.

O:) O:) =D> =D>


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Database size in the DOS version of Navision (V3.56a)
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 2:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 7:29 pm
Posts: 8
Country: Poland (pl)
ktvallentin wrote:
Hi there.

.... The most optimal way is to have several physical harddisks in the server and create equal sized files on each disk. Everytime you double your number of physical disks, you cut your response time in half.

Regards,
Kim


Hello,

we have our DB (3.5GB) in 3 files. Is it better to have them on a hardware RAID5 setup (3 SCSI HDDs) or just 3 separate disks? I think that RAID5 is maybe a bit slower but much safer than 3 separate disks? Is it correct?

Best Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: