mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 12:31 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ERP Program
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:34 pm
Posts: 272
Location: USA
Hi, I have read some posting on GP. At present we are using Navision 4.0, but it seems that there are lots of restriction in customization for work flow, we recently consider switching to New one, but haven't made a final decision. Can any expert give any advice on Great Plains? Which one is better for work flow? Is there any link to download the study material on GP?
We also consider using SAP Business One. Can anyone give any professional advice? I really appreciate it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:08 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:05 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Country: United States (us)
:shock:

You're the first person that I've heard of that's trying to move out of NAV. Usually it's the other way around.

What kind of problems are you running into that makes you consider moving into something other than NAV?

_________________
Confessions of a Dynamics NAV Consultant = my blog
AP Commerce, Inc. = where I work

Getting Started with Dynamics NAV 2013 Application Development = my book


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:34 pm
Posts: 272
Location: USA
Thanks for you response! We have some work flow issue needed to be customized. when we talked it with our consulting company, he told us they cannot do them based on the current system but only Navision 6.0 can work for it. For example, we have several check boxes on a form and when we receive the document from diffent departments, if we scan the sales order form with bar code, these check boxes will be automatically checked. There are seveal similar issues. The consulting company can only solve h one check box. That's the reason why we want to switch to different software. But we are still doing reseach. Any suggestions? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:18 am 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:05 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Country: United States (us)
Yes, the workflow portion needs to be customized a bit. But it's a pretty simple mod to implement.

_________________
Confessions of a Dynamics NAV Consultant = my blog
AP Commerce, Inc. = where I work

Getting Started with Dynamics NAV 2013 Application Development = my book


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:34 pm
Posts: 272
Location: USA
Thanks, Alex! Does it mean that it is simple to be customized based on our current version(4.0) or the newer version from 6.0? If it is easy to do the customization on our current system, would you please recommend a better way to do it? Thanks!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:32 am 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:05 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Country: United States (us)
Yes, it's very simple. Basically, your solution center will need to modify the OnValidate trigger to check on the check boxes for you.

Part of the common workflow process can be implemented using the Navigation Pane as well. Basically creating a new menu depending which way the order is to go.

Your solution center will need to create filters so proper orders shows up in the right place.

It's simple, but probably time consuming depending on the extent of what you want it to do. We've done it for a handful of our customers, it's simple, but time consuming.

_________________
Confessions of a Dynamics NAV Consultant = my blog
AP Commerce, Inc. = where I work

Getting Started with Dynamics NAV 2013 Application Development = my book


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 4:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:34 pm
Posts: 272
Location: USA
Thanks! Why does our consultant not do it? It makes us very frunstrated and we decide to abandom our system which we have invested a lot on it. Do you have any suggestions of where to find one who can do it for us? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 4:47 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:05 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Country: United States (us)
I honestly don't know. Perhaps your NSC is overbooked?

Like I said, it's a simple mod, but very time consuming.

_________________
Confessions of a Dynamics NAV Consultant = my blog
AP Commerce, Inc. = where I work

Getting Started with Dynamics NAV 2013 Application Development = my book


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:44 am
Posts: 3
Location: NJ
Country: United States (us)
Navi Learner wrote:
Thanks! Why does our consultant not do it? It makes us very frunstrated and we decide to abandom our system which we have invested a lot on it. Do you have any suggestions of where to find one who can do it for us? Thanks!


Hi,

We are a Microsoft certified partner with good expertise in Navision Customizations. If you are interested please drop a email to discuss

nj.tech@hotmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: