mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:14 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [Solved] NAV 2009 and NAV 2013 development on same machine?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Houston
Perhaps it is just my inability to formulate a decent search string, but does anyone know if it is possible to set up a development environment that can handle NAV 2013 as well as earlier (2009) versions? The thing which has me sytmied is the RDLC changes that require NAV 2013 to use VS 2010 while NAV2009 report design is broken by this version of Visual Studio. I'm under the impression that Visual Studio will not allow multiple versions to be installed at the same time.

Other than going to a virtual PC environment, has MSFT addressed this issue? If not, it will surely cause many a headache for developers that must support clients running earlier versions as well as new clients and upgrade clients.

Thanks


Last edited by dleroux on Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV 2009 and NAV 2013 development on same machine?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 7:41 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:37 am
Posts: 4537
Location: Hyderabad
Country: India (in)
dleroux wrote:
I'm under the impression that Visual Studio will not allow multiple versions to be installed at the same time.

This is not true..
I am having both VS2008 and VS2010 installed in my machine..and also NAV2009R2 and NAV2013Beta..

_________________
-Mohana
http://mibuso.com/blogs/mohana
http://mohana-dynamicsnav.blogspot.in/
https://www.facebook.com/MohanaDynamicsNav


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV 2009 and NAV 2013 development on same machine?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Houston
[quote="mohana_cse06This is not true..
I am having both VS2008 and VS2010 installed in my machine..and also NAV2009R2 and NAV2013Beta..[/quote]

And you are able to do report design for both versions of NAV? If so, great and my problem is entirely a product of my imagination. :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV 2009 and NAV 2013 development on same machine?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:52 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:50 am
Posts: 12283
Location: Brno
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
Yes, I have VS 2008, 2010 and 2013beta and it is working without problem. Reporting is the least of the problems. Bigger is dynamicsnav protocol association, which is used when running Pages from designer or using URLs to open NAV in RTC. You need to run NAV 2009 when starting page from NAV 2009 classic, but NAV 2013 Win Client if running from NAV 2013 DevEnv.

You can look at this.

_________________
Kamil Sacek
MVP - Dynamics NAV
My BLOG
NAVERTICA a.s.


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV 2009 and NAV 2013 development on same machine?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Houston
Thanks for that link. I've already hit the protocol issue as we have clients on both 2009Sp1 and 2009R2.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Luc Van Dyck and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: