Bin Content (Fixed/Default)

dabba23dabba23 Member Posts: 77
edited 2014-08-26 in NAV Three Tier
Hi,

I am a novice when it comes to inventory setup and I cannot seem to find a logical/business explanation to why the system does what it does!

I have NAV2013 RTC and I have set up following.

Location Card: Bin Mandatory and Default Bin Selection = Last-Used Bin.
The location has two bins: B1 & B2.

When I create a purchase order for both bins for the first time for an item, a bin content is created for each bin, where Fixed and Default are checked.
I remove the Fixed because I don't want the system to know the last bin when inventory is zero.

I now create a various sales orders and purchase orders to ensure that the Default on bin content works fine.

However, when I create a sales orders, that empty the inventory on both bins and I then create a new purchase order, the system again create a bin content where Fixed and Default are checked.

I don't understand why Fixed is checked. My customer finds it very time-consuming to manually uncheck the Fixed on the bin contents everytime inventory is zero.

Do you know of a work-around or if I have missed a setup?

Regards
Ann

Comments

• pvrbpvrb Member Posts: 17
    This might be a bit too technical, still, I hope it provides the answer you are looking for (setup is taken from the Location, Work Center and Machine Center tables).

Both, the fixed and default flags [Bin Content table], I trust, are populated by the Codeunit 7301: Whse. Jnl.-Register Line, the procedure sounds InsertToBinContent is used by NAV to create a new Bin Content:
    LOCAL InsertToBinContent(WhseEntry : Record "Warehouse Entry")
    WITH WhseEntry DO BEGIN
      GetBin("Location Code","Bin Code");
      BinContent.INIT;
      BinContent."Location Code" := "Location Code";
      BinContent."Zone Code" := "Zone Code";
      BinContent."Bin Code" := "Bin Code";
      BinContent.Dedicated := Bin.Dedicated;