NAV 2013, NAV2013R2 and 2015 side-by-side installation

mr_ashmr_ash Member Posts: 12
edited 2015-02-16 in NAV Three Tier
NAV 2015 and 2013R2 are working fine together "out of the box", but when you have NAV 2013 also then probably you can't run objects from the designer.

To quick fix that issue you can modify following register entry:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DYNAMICSNAV\Shell\Open\Command]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\\70\\RoleTailored Client\\Microsoft.Dynamics.Nav.Client.exe -protocolhandler \"%1\""
(simply change digit 8 to 7 in that path)

And please remember that before I installed NAV 2015 I had 2013 and 2013R2 working together. (You must begin from this guide: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/nav/archive/2014/02/24/installing-microsoft-dynamics-nav-2013-r2-side-by-side-with-microsoft-dynamics-nav-2013.aspx)

In my enviroment everything works great, but I don't test this solution on the other machines.

To set register you can paste following script to PowerShell ISE:
set-executionpolicy unrestricted

if ( [System.IntPtr]::Size -eq 4 ) 
{
    $nav70 = Get-ItemProperty -path "HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\70\RoleTailored Client" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    $nav70exist = ($nav70.Path.Length -gt 0) 
}

if ( [System.IntPtr]::Size -eq 8 ) 
{
    $nav70 = Get-ItemProperty -path "HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\70\RoleTailored Client" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    $nav70exist = ($nav70.Path.Length -gt 0) 
}

if ($nav70exist) 
{
    New-PSDrive -Name HKCR -PSProvider Registry -Root HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

    if (Get-Item -Path 'HKCR:\DYNAMICSNAV\Shell\Open\Command' -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue) 
    {
        Set-Item -Path 'HKCR:\DYNAMICSNAV\Shell\Open\Command' -Value 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\70\RoleTailored Client\Microsoft.Dynamics.Nav.Client.exe -protocolhandler "%1"' -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    }

    Write-Output "Done."
}
else
{
    Write-Warning "You don't have Dynamics NAV 7.0 installed"
}


Waiting for your comments.
http://www.nav.info.pl/ - First polish blog about Dynamics NAV.

Comments

  • MarijnMarijn Member Posts: 69
    On my machine I have NAV 5.0SP1NL, 60, 70 and 71 clients. And indeed it is messed up now. I can't run anything from my 71 dev environment. I appreciate your posting and will check it out.
  • mr_ashmr_ash Member Posts: 12
    Marijn please remember that my post is only about NAV 2015 and 2013.
    If you want get 2013 and 2013R2 working together you must follow this guide:
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/nav/archive/2014/02/24/installing-microsoft-dynamics-nav-2013-r2-side-by-side-with-microsoft-dynamics-nav-2013.aspx
    http://www.nav.info.pl/ - First polish blog about Dynamics NAV.
  • sultannjosultannjo Member Posts: 13
    Hello,
    I have problem with the installation of NAV 2015, I received this message when installing NAV 2015 side-by-side. I’m running windows 8 and I’ve installed NAV 2013 and NAV 2013 R2 on the same workstation. NAV 2013 and NAV 2013 R2 work fine. I can install all other components of NAV 2015 but I’m unable to install dynamics NAV service tier because of this error message,

    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Build 37874
    Error Report
    Server
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server Components
    Fatal error during installation.

    The service ‘Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server [DynamicsNAV80]‘ (MicrosoftDynamicsNavServer$DynamicsNAV80) failed to start. This can be caused by one of several issues. For example, the password for the account that runs the service may be incorrect, or there could be a conflict in port sharing for the port settings for the service, or you have specified that the port for the server should be opened in the Windows firewall even though the Windows firewall is not enabled on the computer. For more information, see the event viewer.


    The nav service is not present on the computer after installation. I checked Ports, all ports are right, no conflict;

    I can access the database through NAV 2015 Dev Environment. The problem is that the installation rolled back before ending, and then the service is not installed on the workstation. The user configured to start the service is “NT Authority\Network” with empty password. The event viewer shows this error message “This computer is configured as a member of a workgroup, not as a member of a domain. The Netlogon service does not need to run in this configuration”.
    Let's say that the netlogon service is not running, so I don’t understand the problem.

    Finally I’ve unistall NAV 2013 and NAV 2013 R2 but still unable to install NAV service tier 2015 on my computer.

    Can anybody help...
  • mr_ashmr_ash Member Posts: 12
    Three most important (in my opinion) things when installing NAV:

    1) Run installer as Administrator

    2) Move directory with installation files to the root directory for example "c:\NAVInstall\" - long path can generate errors

    3) In installer change default ports of the service - if you have other NAV versions installed on the ports from range 7045-7048 install new NAV on the other ports (for example 7145-7148). After installation you can enable TCP Port Sharing for the new service and back change ports to defaults (7045-7948). You can find more about port sharing here: http://dynamicsuser.net/blogs/waldo/arc ... v2013.aspx
    http://www.nav.info.pl/ - First polish blog about Dynamics NAV.
  • sultannjosultannjo Member Posts: 13
    I tried to install as Administrator, move the path, modify port when isntalling, same issue!!

    I experienced many times this issue and I don't know how to fix the problem;
    Everytime, when installing Dynamics NAV 2009, 2009 R2, 2013, 2013 R2 I receive this message after installation

    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server Components
    Fatal error during installation.
    The service ‘Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server [DynamicsNAV60]‘ failed to start
    or someting like that

    So I'm obliged to start the service manually!
    I'm running FR localized version of Dynamics NAV, the user who starts the service is NT Authority\Network, in french "Autorité NT\Service réseau". When I try to start the service with this user it fail again, but when I change the user from "Autorité NT\Service réseau" to "Service réseau" the service starts fine.

    I'm running FR version of Windows 8, in the past I worked with Windows vista and windows 7.
    I want to definitly fix this problem. I think it's the same problem I have now with NAV 2015, more than that, Service Tier cannot be installed.
  • mr_ashmr_ash Member Posts: 12
    But have you tried to change the user during the installation of NAV 2015?
    http://www.nav.info.pl/ - First polish blog about Dynamics NAV.
  • sultannjosultannjo Member Posts: 13
    I tried to change the user during the installation, but got a message; I created a new user with password and tried to select the user during the install, the message I received said that the account I'm triying to select cannot be used to start a service, so that I should configure the account as a service account before using it.
    Can you please give the procedure to create a service account? I know how to create a new user both in local computer and active directory, but I dont know how to configure the user so that it can be used as service account.
    Thanks for your help.
  • mr_ashmr_ash Member Posts: 12
    I don't have at the moment English Windows to do some screenshots, but I found proper guide on the internet:

    http://support.adminarsenal.com/entries/23498127-Enable-Credentials-to-Log-on-as-a-Service-

    You must create new user account like always (or use existing) and follow attached guide. In the next step you can install NAV using this user.
    http://www.nav.info.pl/ - First polish blog about Dynamics NAV.
  • sultannjosultannjo Member Posts: 13
    Thanks a lot mr_ash,
    User authentication was the case, I have created a new user and made configuration to start the service and I finally install NAV 2015. Your advices was helpfull.
    Thanks once more.
  • Rikt-ItRikt-It Member Posts: 37
    I run Nav2009, Nav2013, Nav2013R2 and Nav2015 in same environment.

    How I Do It:
    1 In services .msc start ."net portshareing"
    2 Control that Your Service-Account is local admin
    3. Install "ServiceTierAdministrator" from mibuso/download. (learn to handel ServiceTierAdm, Its easy and well spend time)
    3.1 Before installation a new version from dvd/media, stop all other Nav services, use ServiceTierAdm...
    3.2 Install Your new version
    3.3 Install licence per db.
    3.3 stop Your new Nav-version
    3.4 add portshareing to Your new version use ServiceTierAdm...
    3.5 start all You Nav-Services...
    4 start Your version ... from ServiceTierAdm

    In ServiceTierAdm.. I can start/run right version, try object-button

    You can not use the run-Button inside Dev-enviroment but ServiceTierAdm

    I stoped to install MS admin....never used....
    Regards
    Christer in Stockholm, Sweden
  • ryancairnsryancairns Member Posts: 40
    Hi - I have just reinstalled my laptop. I installed version 2015, 2013 R2, 2013 and 2009 in that order.

    I then ran the powershell script from:
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/nav/archive/201 ... -2013.aspx

    Now I can run objects from the object designer in both NAV 2013 and NAV 2013 R2 fine. When I run an object in NAV 2015 it always opens a separate instance of the role tailored client. This isn't happening on other machines I have setup.

    What am I missing or what have I done wrong?

    Thanks,

    Ryan
Sign In or Register to comment.