mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 12:25 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Running Large VLE
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 5:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:53 am
Posts: 33
Hi All,

I don't believe that there is a solution to this but would like to ask the question anyway.

I have a customer that has a huge VLE that they would like to run from the object designer and then filter on the data to look for certain records. This simply hangs the system.

I have just done a tech upgrade from 4 SP1 to 2009 SP1

Any ideas ?

The solution that I have here is to drop a Form with a few fields for filters over the table and then allow the customer to search it that way.

Thanks for your time.
R


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Running Large VLE
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 12:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 2817
Location: MA
Country: United States (us)
Why do they want to run it from Object Designer? Object Designer is not an end user tool. It's a developer tool. Whenever a customer feels they need to run something from Object Designer, that should be a huge flag that there's something missing. Either in terms of system business process design or user training.

What do you consider huge?

_________________
There are no bugs - only undocumented features.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Running Large VLE
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:53 am
Posts: 33
Cannot remember the exact number of records. The size is somewhere around 5GB - total database size is +- 100GB.

(from memory) on another VPN now so I can't check


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Running Large VLE
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 2817
Location: MA
Country: United States (us)
One site I work with has 80 million VLE records (and growing). DB is north of 300 GB.

_________________
There are no bugs - only undocumented features.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Running Large VLE
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:05 pm
Posts: 188
Location: IJsselstein
Country: Netherlands (nl)
Is there an appropriate key selected for the fields they are filtering on? Or does running the table already hang the system.

Probably the best option you have is to create a form that is sorted by their most used key by default. And tell them to select the right key before filtering on some other field.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Running Large VLE
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 674
Location: AT
Country: Austria (at)
ryanatwork wrote:
The solution that I have here is to drop a Form with a few fields for filters over the table and then allow the customer to search it that way.


Instead of doing that consider implementing a BI system that queries the data in its own tables. You don't want to clog up the NAV table with queries while others try to post purchase invoices. Try BI4Dynamics its cheap and simple to implement.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: