mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:56 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 8
Country: Portugal (pt)
Hi guys,

I'd like to request your help on this subject.

I'm migrating a database from Navision 4 (no SP3) to 2009 R2, Both SQL DBs.
I'm running Step 6 of the Data Migration Quickguide.

Quote:
6. Run codeunit 104045, Upgrade NAV 2009 Step 1.
In Object Designer, run form 104001, Upgrade - Old Version.
For each company, on form 104001, click Transfer Data. This runs codeunit 104045.


The problem is that the system hangs on "Table Information" table. It enters in an infinite loop. I've waited 24 hours and it kept running (it was already at 2000000 records count).
I tried redoing indexes bu it hasn't solved the problem.

Can you help me?

Thanks,
jpof88


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:09 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:05 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Country: United States (us)
How do you know it goes into an infinite loop? How big is your database?

_________________
Confessions of a Dynamics NAV Consultant = my blog
AP Commerce, Inc. = where I work

Getting Started with Dynamics NAV 2013 Application Development = my book


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 8
Country: Portugal (pt)
Well, I've done a couple of data migration on this database before, just to test the process before the final migration, and it never took this long. The previous attempt took about 15 hours for the hole migration process. Including Data backup/restore.

My database is 15GB.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:39 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:01 am
Posts: 5349
Location: Prague
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
jpof88 wrote:
Well, I've done a couple of data migration on this database before, just to test the process before the final migration, and it never took this long. The previous attempt took about 15 hours for the hole migration process. Including Data backup/restore.

My database is 15GB.


Well if it worked before and it doesn't work now, the question is "what did you change?"

_________________
David Singleton
Dynamics NAV Freelancer
Dynamics Book
Go-Live International


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 8
Country: Portugal (pt)
Well I compressed G/L Entry, Cust. Ledger Entry and Vendor Ledger Entry data and changed security mode from advanced to standard, but I believe the problem comes from neither of those changes.

To give more detail, my customer has 3 databases running on NAV 4, and we are migrating all 3 to NAV 2009 R2. The changes above, it were made to all 3 BDs and the problem only occur in one of them.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:26 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:01 am
Posts: 5349
Location: Prague
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
jpof88 wrote:
Well I compressed G/L Entry, Cust. Ledger Entry and Vendor Ledger Entry data and changed security mode from advanced to standard, but I believe the problem comes from neither of those changes.


So as I see it.

1 - The process works
2 - You changed something
3 - The process no longer works.

But you are convinced that step 2 has nothing to do with step 3?

might I suggest you take the database prior to compression and see if it will upgrade, if you get the same error you then have somewhere to start from if you don't get the error you need to focus on step 2.

Computer programs don't generally stop working unless you change something.

_________________
David Singleton
Dynamics NAV Freelancer
Dynamics Book
Go-Live International


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 8
Country: Portugal (pt)
Ok, Trying to find the problem, I create a list form with "Table Information" as source table, at first it ran fine, but when I tried to apply a filter by company name, it started counting record infinitely as happened in Data Migration process.

The code lines I got stuck at were the following,


Code: Select all
Object.SETCURRENTKEY(Type,Name);
Object.SETRANGE(Type,Object.Type::Table);
Object.SETRANGE(Name,TableName);
IF NOT Object.FINDFIRST THEN
  EXIT(FALSE);

TableInformation.SETFILTER("Company Name",'%1|%2','',COMPANYNAME);
TableInformation.SETRANGE("Table No.",Object.ID);
IF TableInformation.FINDFIRST THEN;


It gets stuck at TableInformation.FINDFIRST;
I tried redoing the keys indexes but didn't solved.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data Migration NAV 4 to 2009 R2 Issue
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 8
Country: Portugal (pt)
Hi to all,

Just to update the post, I've solved my problem. It was a character "@" in the name of the company that was screwing everything around.

Thanks to those who replied the post.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: