mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:39 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:21 am
Posts: 158
Location: Derby
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
After using the SQL 2008 Copy Database wizard I now have a Copy of the Live database for testing/training etc which will be refreshed every night. I can gain access to the database no problem but when non db owners try to access it using Nav 2009 R2 they get an error
Quote:
Cannot set application role '$ndo$shadow' because it does not exist or the password is incorrect


The application role does exist and has a password according to SSMS.

Security is Standard in the Live and Copy databases, I've synchronised the logons and users have permissions to both databases.

I've read about changing the security model to Enhanced and back to Standard as this will be a scheduled job I don't want to be running extra commands that could lock the job as can happen when changing the security model.

Any ideas why an exact copy of the database shouldn't act in the same way as the source database?

Steve

_________________
Life is for enjoying ... if you find yourself frowning you're doing something wrong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:43 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 5349
Location: Prague
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
Windows or SQL logins?

_________________
David Singleton
Dynamics NAV Freelancer
Dynamics Book
Go-Live International


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:21 am
Posts: 158
Location: Derby
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
Windows authentication

Steve

_________________
Life is for enjoying ... if you find yourself frowning you're doing something wrong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:20 am
Posts: 128
Location: Pretoria
Country: South Africa (za)
Hi,

I am doing the exact same thing, have you guys found any solution to this?

Synchronizing the logins doesn't work as it complains that a login (the owner of the db) already exists in the database...

Kind Regards,

Ewald


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:21 am
Posts: 158
Location: Derby
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
No, sorry :cry:

_________________
Life is for enjoying ... if you find yourself frowning you're doing something wrong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 1075
Location: Richardson
Country: United States (us)
Are you restoring to the same sql server instance?
If not, you may have a mismatch between your instance security users and your database security users.

Also, are you on the same Windows domain?

_________________
David Machanick
http://mibuso.com/blogs/davidmachanick/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:20 am
Posts: 128
Location: Pretoria
Country: South Africa (za)
Same domain different servers/instances.

It was running perfectly when the jobs were created to run on a Windows account, a month later suddenly started getting permission errors so the copy didn't happen and the client denies changing permissions for the login.

So recreated the jobs using a db login with the same password in both instances, on both servers it has the sysadmin role.
And it is set to copy the logins from source to destination server.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: $ndo$shadow trouble
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:36 pm
Posts: 5
Country: Belgium (be)
You can use the sp_change_users_login stored procedure from SQL server.

That did the trick for me...

To report the 'unmapped' users: exec sp_change_users_login 'Report'

Check the Microsoft Help page for more details.

Jan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: