mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 4:53 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Backup Problems!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 12:41 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Deutschland
Country: Germany (de)
Hello togehter

We´ve got Navision 3.56A and i want to make a backup on a NTFS partition.
The Problem is, it works in one time. After this Backup it doesn´t work again :cry:
I get a error message " not enough disk space, choose another space for Backup #-o" ( I translate, because it´s the german version). But there is enough space (15,7GB) !!!
The Database size is 5GB

The Computer where i want to do my backup is a Windows XP Prof.
What can i do to have always a secure Backup? I made a new Partition with Partition Magic (D:\) . In this drive (15,7GB) i want to make a backup by my Navision Client on C:\.

Hope for Help

THX

Andi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 3:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Aalborg
Country: Denmark (dk)
Hrm.. sounds odd!

Have you tried making the partition smaller? E.g. 8GB so see if it's the sheer size of the partition that Navision can't handle?

You are sure you are using the Navin.exe file and not Navi.exe?

You are sure you have selected to make a backup to the Hard-drive and not the floppy drive?

Sorry if the above seems like dumb things to ask, but it's a long time since I used The Navison DOS version and since it is and elderly program it may behave oddly in moderne environments. :-s

I tried making a backup on my own Windows XP box with NTS partition with 28GB of free space and it worked like a charm.

Hope you get your backup problems solved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I guess here is the problem, hope it will help you.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 93
Location: Bangkok
Country: Thailand (th)
Hello there,

The problem is your Navin.exe file. Its to old, find the newest version, I think its from 1998.

The problem is, that the "system" cannot "read" the full size of your harddisk, therefore N3 "think : here is not space enough for a backup"

_________________
Kind Regards

E-mail: info@rainerbay.dk
Skype: rainerbaydk


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: I guess here is the problem, hope it will help you.
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 8
Country: Poland (pl)
Rainer wrote:
Hello there,

The problem is your Navin.exe file. Its to old, find the newest version, I think its from 1998.

The problem is, that the "system" cannot "read" the full size of your harddisk, therefore N3 "think : here is not space enough for a backup"


Yes, I have the same problem when I want to make a backup on a network drive, local works fine. Where can I find newer version of Navi.exe???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I guess here is the problem, hope it will help you.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 93
Location: Bangkok
Country: Thailand (th)
To ways to find the latest exe-file; at some of your customers or at Navisions homepage. It shouldt be possible to find an englisgh version somewhere, I just have danish versions.

_________________
Kind Regards

E-mail: info@rainerbay.dk
Skype: rainerbaydk


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Backup Problems!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:14 am
Posts: 3
Dear All,

Is there any ways or any 3rd software that can do the schedule backup for
Navision's database?
I know only a software name "Backup Utilities" from http://www.expandit.com can do
it. I'd tested it and it worked very well. It's the software that look like
generating the login and configuration script and then automate launching the
Navision Client program and automate backup the Navision Database by using
the existed backup menu.
It costs 600USD for standard edition and 1,200USD for Professional edition.
It also has the trial version to download and try.
It's quite expensive, so does anyone have any another ideas how to do the
schedule backup for Navision Database?
Regards,
tom

_________________
jeux 


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backup Problems!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 93
Location: Bangkok
Country: Thailand (th)
If you still mean the DOS based Navision 3.56, You should find STOPSERV.EXE in the databaseserver program folder.

This program will stop the Navision service from your Services and you may after that copy the "physical" database.

As I know you have to make a CMD file ("batch-program") to do the work for you.

Example: (long time since I did that !!)

<folder to database server program\STOPSERV.EXE
COPY <database> <backupfolder>\

Otherwice you can make a CMD file and use command UNINSTALLASSERVICE, COPY database and then again command INSTALLASSERVICE.

Its really long time since I did that, but I hope you find help.

Kind regards
Rainer

_________________
Kind Regards

E-mail: info@rainerbay.dk
Skype: rainerbaydk


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backup Problems!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 7:20 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 5349
Location: Prague
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
Just fork over the $600 :whistle:

_________________
David Singleton
Dynamics NAV Freelancer
Dynamics Book
Go-Live International


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: