mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:05 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:13 am
Posts: 94
Location: India
Country: India (in)
Hello NAV Experts,

My client is running NAV2009 (without any service pack/hotfix) & "not" under BREP of Microsoft.
would it be possible to upgrade to NAV2009 R2 with same license without any issue?

Mahesh Jain

_________________
Best Regards,
Mahesh Jain
mahesh@reliconservices.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Richardson
Country: United States (us)
Probably not. The last license received from Microsoft for the client will restrict what is supported.

Not a good idea running on the first release of a new version without any updates.

Microsoft will sometimes waive past maintenance if the customer signs up for 3 years - but those are negotiated deals.

_________________
David Machanick
http://mibuso.com/blogs/davidmachanick/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:13 am
Posts: 94
Location: India
Country: India (in)
Thanks devmac for reply.
Can i have more robust answers from other experts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 3:07 am 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 5:37 pm
Posts: 7993
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Country: United States (us)
How much more robust do you want the answer to be? I thought the answer from davmac is about as robust as you can get them.

_________________
Daniel Rimmelzwaan
KCP Dynamics
MVP - Dynamics NAV


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 6:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:13 am
Posts: 94
Location: India
Country: India (in)
Hello Denster,

Thanks for your interest.
See attached image taken from Micrsoft website about illustration of how Hotfix/Regulatory Features applies to the latest Microsoft Dynamics NAV versions.

My assumption is that if license have access to NAV 2009 & it also has access to NAV2009 SP1.. "Please correct me, if i'm wrong here"
Since NAV2009 R2 is more from technical platform enhancements then it should be not be problem with same NAV2009 License. Please share your views.


Attachments:
File comment: NAV R2 Version
NAV R2.png
NAV R2.png [ 71.2 KiB | Viewed 1297 times ]

_________________
Best Regards,
Mahesh Jain
mahesh@reliconservices.com
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:35 am 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 4185
Location: Olst
Country: Netherlands (nl)
I can't remember if online payments was introduced in SP1 or R2, but I ran into an issue that a NAV2009 license cannot work with online payments unless it is refreshed.

_________________
Mark Brummel | Freelance Dynamics NAV (Navision) Specialist

Read my new book: Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2013 Application Design

MY BLOG : http://markbrummel.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:13 am
Posts: 94
Location: India
Country: India (in)
It gives error when you access credit card payment objects(tables).. those are only 8 tables.
But client is not going to use this feature.

_________________
Best Regards,
Mahesh Jain
mahesh@reliconservices.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:45 am 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 4185
Location: Olst
Country: Netherlands (nl)
Yup, that was my guess.

You can easily bypass the calls to these objects. That's what I did to.

In my opinion it's a design error in NAV. Usually NAV is smart enough to notice that a customer does not have access to something and doesn't try to use it. This piece of functionality is not really designed the NAV way.

_________________
Mark Brummel | Freelance Dynamics NAV (Navision) Specialist

Read my new book: Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2013 Application Design

MY BLOG : http://markbrummel.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:38 am
Posts: 1005
Location: Earth
Country: Netherlands (nl)
It would be best to access VOICE to redownload the license with the updated permissions

edit: missed the ''NOT" in the TS

_________________
|Pressing F1 is so much faster than opening your browser|
|MCBMSS: 5.0 intro|MCTS:NAV09 839..841|JetReports© Certified Specialist|
|Dynamics Anywhere: Mobile Business Solutions|


Last edited by Sog on Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NAV2009 R2 Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:13 am
Posts: 94
Location: India
Country: India (in)
[quote="Sog"]It would be best to access VOICE to redownload the license with the updated permissions[/quote]
Clien is not under BREP.. it is not possible to download updated license.

_________________
Best Regards,
Mahesh Jain
mahesh@reliconservices.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: