Options

E-mail through NAV5: needs clarification

ReedbergReedberg Member Posts: 68
Hello all,
I am a NAV developer. My client uses NAV5. I am working on a project to send e-mail through NAV. For sending e-mail I use codeunit 400. E-mail are send with the help of NAS.
I have several questions which are not clear for me, so any help will be appreciated!

1. I added a timer to the standard NAV codeunit E-Mail Dispatcher (5065). This timer will be run by NAS. Codeunit E-Mail Dispatcher is SingleInstance.
My client already has some integration which is run by NAS. There is a custom codeunit "WMS Integration" which contains timer "WMS Timer". "WMS Timer" calls functions which do some integrations with WMS. Custom Codeunit "WMS Integraion" is not SingleInstance. It works fine.
I am wondering why developers which worked on the project before (they already left) be decided to make "WMS Integration" codeunit not a SingleInstance one. This codeunit is called only from Codeunit 1, from NasHandler function.
May it be the case that NAS has some problems with SingleInstance objects or something like this?

2. I found that similar task was implemented for another customer of my company. I found that following code which was actually sending e-mails:
SmtpMail.CreateMessage("Sender Name", "Sender E-mail", '',Subject,Body,FALSE);
SmtpMail.Send;
COMMIT;
SLEEP(200);   
What is SLEEP function designed for? Can I remove it?
3. I tried to send with the help of 397 codeunit. This codeunit uses automation with type 'NS Outlook Synchronization Handler'. When I send e-mails through 397 codeunit they remain in the "Send" box in my Outlook client. But the task is to send messages to several recipients.
FOR FileNameCounter := 1 TO ARRAYLEN(CCNames) DO BEGIN
  IF CCNames[FileNameCounter] <> '' THEN BEGIN
    ORecipients := OSendMail.Recipients;
    ORecipient := ORecipients.Add(CCNames[FileNameCounter]);
  END;
END;